Holding Back

Holding Back

How many of us as parents hold back our children with Apserger’s and ADHD ? Allowing our children to try something new something they might be success for in or maybe fail, how many of us stop our children taking part for fear of failure, fear of meltdowns?

One thing I have always tried to do it not stop my son for trying new things, I am not sure I have always followed what I set out to do but I do try my best.

For my sons Christmas present he wanted to go to Reading FC holiday soccer school, (He loves football and it is his obsession) So two days was book in October half term and then three days where booked for December. Wow is all I can say.

From the time I booked the holiday course we heard of nothing else and the excitement my son had was massive, he talked of nothing else and I do hope he didn’t annoy his teachers too much.

The morning of the first session came and he was so excited, when we dropped him off he went quiet, I can only think the moment had become to overwhelming for him, he was finally there, he was in Reading FC training dome with Reading Coaches. We left him and I have to say I did nothing but worry all day, would he be ok ? Would I get a phone call? What was happening? But the worry was for nothing, when I picked it him he had taking in his surrounding and settled, he had a blast. A non stop day of football and one more to look forward too he had loved it. He was of course knackered but talked non stop in the car most of his talking was of the children that had broken the rules and had been sent home. (My son when out or in school will stick to rules and doesn’t like it when others break them) It was later in the day and coming weeks we would find out more of what he had done once he had processed what he had done.

The next day he went in a little more confident because he had been there the day before and knew what to expect, they where walked down to watch Reading FC’s first team train in an opening training session and my son loved that, he was a little annoyed that the other boys weren’t so interested in watching the team train. He was taking in everything to learn what he could to take in to his football and his team training sessions. His December training was much the same.

I had done what I wanted to do I had allowed him to go and not let his conditions stop him from doing something he wanted to do. He now would love to be picked for the academy and one day play for Reading FC. This is the one thing I have had to say might not be possible as most boys want to become footballers and not many of them make it. But what a nice dream to have for the time being.

Leave a Reply

