Easter Show

Well this week was the key stage two production, 

Oliver was a snake and had to sing and dance to two songs from the Lion King and then two songs with the whole school from the Sound of Music.   Doing one dress resheral and four shows to parents, too much you might say for 7 – 11 years old and after seeing both my children do this I would agree.

 

Oliver seams to get through the shows with in the school day but the evening one which myself and husband went to, He did well considering he had no ADHD medication as his normal dose has warn off and I could not give him another dose letter as this would have affected his sleeping.

I informed the teacher that he was on no meds and that a back up plan might need to be put in place 😦  Was there I don’t think so.

Oliver came out and did his Lion King songs with his class and he seams to enjoy it he was anixious has he as very high on his tip toes (which me being mum know this is a sign of him being out of his comfort zone)  With out the meds to help him remain calm and focus he did struggle to stay in time and remeber what he had to to be doing.  But he did well for the last two songs he had to tried and sit still and sing … he did sing but didn’t manage to sit too still without the help of meds.

The head teacher got up and did his talking and this is where Oliver began to show his distress, I am sitting watching him unable to help and where was the teacher to help him or remove him for the situation no where to be seen,  I did mouth to Oliver to get up and go and pointed to the door but he didn’t move for fear of being told off.  Then after the long speech and on cor and more singing … tipping Oliver over the edge. I now think I should have got up and removed Oliver 😦

 

A massive achievement for him to take part in the all shows and to finish them and I am so proud of him (and his sister who was also in the show) But I do feel too much pressure was placed up on him, and I wonder how many times I have to go over the same things with School?  Am I wrong to think he should have had a get out clause or should he be treated like every other child in school?

Lets see what next years show brings …

Leave a Reply

